Topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is it? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

There is an increasing demand for solar energy in many nations, which use it in their homes daily. It is because the energy from the sun is sustainable and environment-friendly. On the other hand, there are cons, which consider this alternative source of energy as expensive, and impossible to maintain by countries that do not have regular sources of sunlight.

To start with, there are advantages. The sun is a sustainable source of energy for tropical countries like the Philippines, and the United Arab Emirates, where there are constant availabilities of this type of energy. Additionally, compared to coal, solar energy is more environmentally friendly. It cannot emit toxic gases, which can harm the environment and cause global warming and climate change. Based on a Harvard study in Asian countries including Singapore and Saudi Arabia, which use solar energy, they have lesser air pollution and are less likely to experience major catastrophes compared to countries, which do not use it like Indonesia and Afghanistan.

There are disadvantages as well. First, it requires huge funding to set up alternative sources of energy so developing countries experience challenges on securing funding for this kind of initiative. Also, countries at the north pole should not depend on solar energy because of their limitation to access the sun. For example, Canada experiences sunlight for 2 months so it can only use this type of energy for only 2 months.

To conclude, there are a lot of factors to consider when it comes to getting a great source of energy. Solar energy is advantageous because it is sustainable for warm countries and good for the environment. The disadvantages are also there, which include its high costs and limitations to access the sun in snowy countries.