Tourism has negative environmental impacts on tourist areas. What are these impacts? How can damaging impacts be lessened?

Tourism is an important part of income in some countries. But on the other hand, the significant flow of tourists to the host country can be awful. It has many disadvantages for the environment and indigenous people.

Primarily, tourists can impact eco-systems and environment. They use thousands of kilograms of plastic, polyethylene and paper polluting the water, air and ground. Also, animals can be poisoned. Secondly, troubles of animal population. The growth of tourism can lead to the destruction of natural habitats of wildlife. This can lead to the liquidation of various species. Thirdly, tourism can lead to losing local culture and traditions. A large flow of tourists can lead to a change the conventional lifestyle of the indigenous people. Locals will pay more attention to earning money from tourism and can forget about their heritage.

To reduce these affects, we should use following measures. Firstly, governments and tourist companies can encourage tourists to keep the environment clean. Also, we should use recycled and eco-friendly materials. Secondly, to preserve the animal population and their natural habitats, it is important to limit the number of tourists in the fragile natural area. A small number of tourists will not be able to harm the ecosystem. Furthermore, to preserve cultural heritage, it is necessary to promote in monuments and historical sites. It will help to keep national culture safe.

All in all, tourism is important for economic growth. But we must take into consideration possible negative effects.