Traditional cultures will inevitably be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional culture are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some people believe that technological developments lead to the loss of traditional cultures. I partly agree with that assertion; while it may be true in the case of some societies, however, others seem to be unaffected by technology and the modern world.

On the one hand, the advances in technology that have driven industrialization in developed countries contributed to the disappearance of traditional ways of life. For example, a decade ago in Uzbekistan, people used to be so close that even neighbourhoods considered themselves as a family. They used to lend handmade items or groceries without expecting returning due to their shared history and beliefs. In my childhood, each summer when I visited my grandparents, I witnessed how people were helping each other’s farms with harvesting and other farmwork, and lunch was enough payment for them. Nowadays, while crossing the same farmlands, I witness another scene, as most of the farmers hired workers and special machines that replaced their relatives and neighbours’ help.

On the other hand, in some parts of the world, traditional cultures remain unchanged even after centuries. There are tribes in the Amazon Rainforest, for example, that have been completely untouched by the technological developments of the developed world. These tribal communities still hunt and gather food from the forest by using traditional skills that are passed on to children by parents and elders. Furthermore, in most of the parts of Africa and Asia, farming communities use mobile phones or other technological amenities to track weather forecasts or look for market prices and news, which helps them to prosper and therefore support their culture.

In conclusion, many traditional ways were lost as a result of advances in technology, but other traditional communities have survived and even flourished.