Traffic congestion and housing problems in large cities could be solved by moving large industries and factories and their employees to the rural areas. What extent do you agree or disagree?
The contemporary era is an era of modernization, some politicians and authorities say that if
giant companies move their factories with white-collar and blue-collar workers to the rural areas,
transportation and housing problems can be solved. I completely agree with this statement, and
this essay will examine the argument.
Firstly, since the beginning of migration from the countryside to the cities, large cities faced
undesirable transport problems. In fact, this problem mostly occurs before and after working
hours. Moreover, each giant company located in large cities has more than 10,000 employees. If
these companies and their employees move to the countryside, traffic density will decrease
dramatically. For example, in Delhi there are still so many factories operating in the city center,
and these factories cause traffic jams, instead, if there are no more factories, not only people,
but the whole city will finally be able to breathe.
In addition to transport problems, another major problem is the housing problem. House rents
and purchase prices are constantly rising, in fact, the growth rate is higher than the rate of
inflation. In other words, people living in metropolitan areas cannot offset their monthly
expenses. In order to lower rental and purchase prices, some people have to move out of the big
cities. In addition, according to a academic article published by the Delhi Technical University, in
Delhi, about 8 million people work in corporate companies. For instance, if they all move from
Delhi to rural areas, there will be a sufficient decrease in demand, and due to this, both rental
and purchase prices will fall.
To conclude, in the light of the above information, giant factories located in large cities are one of
the causes of housing and transportation problems. I firmly believe that if these companies move
their factories and associated personnel to the countryside, many of the problems that have
arisen in big cities will be solved.