Traffic congestion has become a serious issue for many cities around the globe. What are the effects of traffic congestion? How could this issue be resolved? You should write around 250 words.

One of the most topical issues in modern society is traffic jams. The effects of this modern phenomenon are numerous and difficult to overcome. This essay will discuss the problems associated with gridlock, and offer some measures to tackle this problem.

There are two main issues which are caused by traffic congestion. Firstly, it makes people get into mental and physical illnesses. For example, when there are many people who are often stuck in traffic in Ho Chi Minh city for many hours, especially during peak hours, they may get fever, cough, lung cancers, and other diseases because of car or motorbike emissions and weather conditions. Secondly, heavy traffic is less likely to lead individuals to getting promoted and having job prospects.This is because businesses usually start working at 7 a.m, so there are many vehicles on the roads which makes them being late for work or important meetings regularly, and the productivity of work decreases.

However, there are a variety of possible solutions available to address this problem. The main way to combat this issue is using mass transit. The more individuals use public transport such as buses to commute to work or study, the less the amount of traffic on the streets. A second potential solution is building specific lanes for each vehicle. If authorities implement a policy to establish bus lanes, journey time can decrease and avoid the majority of traffic accidents or gridlock.

In conclusion, it must be said that traffic congestion has become a complex issue with no easy solutions. I believe that the best solution is using public transportation. If this measure is adopted, it will go a long way towards solving this problem caused by heavy traffic.