Traffic congestion has become a serious issue for many cities around the globe. What are the effects of traffic congestion? How could this issue be resolved? You should write around 250 words.

In this modern society, in many cities the roads are usually jammed with vehicles. This essay will discuss the main obstacles that occur because of it and suggest some practical solutions to overcome these problems.

To begin with, there are two major problems which people encounter due to traffic congestion. The foremost is delay in emergency response. Most of the time, first responders, such as ambulances and fire departments, get stuck on the road for a long time as they do not have a clear way to pass. Another issue is a significant rise in the number of road accidents. As everyone is in a hurry to arrive at their destination, they usually speed to cover their lost time in traffic jams, which not only causes accidents but also blocks the road for even longer periods.

However, the above-mentioned problems can be addressed by implementing some steps. Firstly, the government should build roads with a separate emergency lane like in developed countries, which can be used while the road is closed. In Canada, for example, most of the highways and roads are equipped with an emergency lane, which saves plenty of time in responding to a critical situation. Additionally, elevating awareness among people to give way to emergency vehicles can also reduce the wait time. Secondly, it is not only the government’s duty to work alone; individuals have to understand that they should be prepared for any delay and start ahead of time. Getting help from Google Maps is a prime example; they can estimate their arrival time and can make themselves aware of any road closure or delay in advance.

In conclusion, most cities are facing a rapid increase in traffic congestion, which is one of the major factors behind road accidents and slowing down the speed of emergency response. However, the solutions mentioned above, if implemented sincerely, can solve these problems to some extent.