Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

In many big cities, it is obvious that traffic congestion is increasingly common and becoming more frequent now. However, there are various measures that both individuals and governments can take to address this problem.

To begin with, this issue can be prevented by fostering the use of public transport. Because traffic jam is often caused by a large number of vehicles transporting on the same route, people can tackle this problem by using public transport, such as buses and trains, instead of owning private cars. Therefore, the number of vehicles may decrease, making the roads more spacious to prevent congestion and accidents. Moreover, individuals can also save a huge amount of money by applying this measure when traveling, which can help them allocate their budgets to other essential factors, including food, clothes, healthcare,….

In addition, governments should also play an important role in mitigating traffic problems. By raising the prices of cars and motorbikes, including the costs of buying transport and fuel to function, citizens may consider other ways to travel instead of owning vehicles. For example, in Japan, people have to pay an criminally expensive cost to possess and maintain a car due to the taxes introduced by the authorities. Hence, Japanese residents now prefer walking or catching buses, reducing the burden on transportation system and improving the environment because of less toxic fumes released.

In conclusion, traffic congestion can be tackled by stimulating the use of public transport and increasing the price of vehicles, which also help people save money and improve the atmosphere.