Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in larg cities. What solution can you suggest to help solve this problem

In recent years, traffic jam has dramatically increased in mega-cities, making significant difficulties for people living there. It seems to be vital to tackle this issue properly. I believe this task can be achievable by adopting pragmatic strategies, including improving public transportation system, implementing regulations for private car drivers.

One of the most reasonable measures to reduce traffic congestion can be development of public transportation system so efficient that people prefer to use it instead of their own cars. Expanding railways and buses by utilizing advanced facilities such as fast trains and comfortable buses with a widespread coverage of the city can be highly attractive for individuals. This can provide them with a convenient and safe method of transportation. For example, policymakers of the city of Tokyo have been successful to considerably reduce the traffic congestion of the city by applying such practical approaches.

Imposing some strict rules to make driving private cars costly may be another applicable solution for decreasing traffic jam. Drivers can be enforced to pay extra tax for their cars if they drive in rush hours. It can also be obligatory that driving in congested routes may be permitted by paying tolls. In addition, the high cost of fuel can be an important determinant to discourage individuals from using their own cars. These policies have been successfully examined for years in metropolitan areas such as London and Paris to mitigate the problem, and can be employed in other big cities.

In conclusion, the problem of traffic congestion can be relatively alleviated by strengthening public transportation system and increasing the expenses of driving private cars.