Trying to save endangered animal species from extinction is a waste of valuable resources. Do you agree or disagree?

Recent investigations have showcased that animal extinction has become rampant in the past decades. There are contradicting viewpoints on whether or not we should attempt to save endangered species. Some people subscribe to the view that such animals serve no useful purpose and should be allowed to die out as numerous species have in the past. On the other hand, majority of people concur with the standpoint that all animals regardless of how unimportant they might seem in our lives must be preserved. I personally side with the latter view and my reasons are twofold as followed in the upcoming paragraphs.

First of all, the ecology is delicately arranged system and each element immensely contributes to maintaining its balance; therefore, elimination of a minor creature that presumably seems insignificant could ignite a set of chain reactions effecting the ecosystem as a whole. As a further instance, even though the grey wolfs were once on the verge of becoming extinct, they were fortunately conserved in a national park. These wolves assist with population control of elks and without the presence of this endangered species due to the overload of elks in the region and their tree consumption we would witness habitat loss of an extensive range of animals as well. Hence, it could be viewed that each animal plays a vitally significant role in obtaining nature’s cohesion and we should save them by all means.

Secondly and more importantly, diversity in animal race has been beneficial to mankind since they have been inspirational to scientists and encouraged them to come up with ideas for medical inventions. Each living thing contains genetics that hold the key to cures for ailment and utilizing these genes leads us to medicines for human body malfunctions. Thus, protecting all animal types, the ones at risk in particular, should be the ultimate goal for environmentalists and pharmacists.

By way of conclusion, attempting to save engendered animals could work in interest of both animals and humans. They not only come to the aid of nature to obtain its stability, but also help the mankind to survive untreated diseases.