Trying to save endangered animal species from extinction is a waste of valuable resources. Do you agree or disagree?

In this ever-changing world where many animal species have to cope with climate change, illegal activities such as hunting and poaching to survive. While some people believe that it would be waste a big amount of money and attempts to save them, others have opposite opinion. In this essay, I will present my perspective and give reasons for the importance of saving endangered animal species.

On the one hand, saving endangered species helps preserve the natural habitat of ecosystems. Every species, no matter how small they are, play a vital role in maintaining the health and functionality of its environment. However, people have ruined significant number of habitats for our own convenience. As a result, these animals are forced to leave their native habitat and relocate to an unsuitable location for their personality, which ultimately results in extinction.

Moreover, if one species disappears, especially the keystone one, it can cause a successive effect. For instance, if a top predator like tiger become extinct, the population of prey animals may explode, leading to overgrazing and damage to plant life and seriously affect farmers’ crops.

Furthermore, financial benefit outweighs the initial investment in animal protection. Obviously wildlife tourism generates billions of dollars and create jobs worldwide. Here in Viet Nam, there are various destinations that offer visitors a chance to get know more about animals on the edge of extinction such as Nam Cat Tien and Cuc Phuong National Parks, a semi-wildlife safari – Vin Wonder in Phu Quoc that greatly contribute to the economic growth. In addition, preserving these species also benefits in many fields. Numerous medicines are derived from animals which may cure rare diseases, saving thousands of people.

On the whole, saving endangered species is not just about protecting animals, it’s about preserving the planet’s health, human well-being, and a rich legacy for future generations.