tudents perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Find the sample answer to this question here.

In the realm of education, the question of whether the students perform better under the system of rewards or punishment. While some people say the prizes can motivate students to study, others think students get better grades by penalizing them. So, this essay will explore the advantages and disadvantages of these ways.

First of all, we will talk about rewards. Studies show children are sensitive and easily influenced when younger, therefore positive environment is better for them to develop comprehensively both physic and mentally. That may inspire them to study which makes them better. Awards about all the fields that teenagers enjoy like creativity awards, sports or music winnings, or perfect attendance can be a motivation or maybe a goal that students have to learn, practice, and prepare carefully to achieve. This process helps children learn a lot and improve their scores. Moreover, when students get awards, they realize they are recognized, then they keep developing their skills, and they will have a good feeling of learning. Consequently, the rewards not only help pupils enhance their academic performance but also make them love studying.

On the contrary, punishment is considered one of the ways to educate students as well. This way is given to fine the learners who behave badly or have bad grades. Some students perform better when punished but it is too harsh for childhood. Possibly does work, but it is old-fashioned, potentially dangerous, and could discourage a student for life. In some people’s opinion, if we are wrong, we have to be disciplined to remember that we will never do that again. However, when children have to suffer from lots of punishments, especially in their teenage, they may feel embarrassed with their friends, and this can affect their psychology in their childhood.

In conclusion, awards or punishments are still the popular ways to educate. Both of them have their benefits, but teachers and families have to choose reasonably. They need to balance between awards and punishments. Of course, too many awards are sometimes not really good because students may feel they are perfect and that they do not need to learn. Additionally, adults should consider about punishments to teach their children.