tudents perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Find the sample answer to this question here.

In modern times, the issue of student performance has become highly controversial. There are those who say that rewards can encourage students to perform better, whereas others believe that punishment is more effective than an award in boosting performance. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why people believe that reward is the best way to motivate students rather than punish them. Perhaps the main reason is that learners are fond of gifts such as toys, gaming equipment, etc., but they do not have enough money to buy them. A good illustration of this is that children can do well in their examinations if their parents promise to buy them anything they like most when they perform well in their exams. A further point in favor of performing better is to grab opportunities. If someone has good results as well as extracurricular activities, they can get a scholarship from their university or abroad.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that a penalty can help to increase performance. The main reason why people think that this is a good way is because every person can fear getting punished. As a punishment, teachers can beat their students, and students have to do what their teacher says. Consequently, students perform better to save themselves from penalty. Secondly, anyone can understand their fault from their previous punishment, which can assist them in doing well in the future.

To sum up, punishment is not workable for all types of individuals. Despite arguments to the contrary, I must say that I very strongly feel that reward is the best path to performing well in school rather than being punished. If a reward system can be applied in the school, everyone will try to do well for the achievement.