TV, Internet and radio are very popular nowadays. Some people say that they will replace books and written words as the main sources of information. To what degree do you agree or disagree with this position?

In today’s modern world, many people are in opinion that the fast-growing technology and communication media like TV, the Internet, and radio might replace books as a source of information. However, I do not agree with this, as each medium of instruction has its own advantages and disadvantages, which I would like to discuss further in my essay.

As far as the use of Internet, TV, social media, and radio are concerned, there is no doubt that their use has escalated over the years. People of all ages, including infants to elderly, are keen on using it as it contains content of varied interests. For instance, nowadays, even in schools, use of projectors, TV, computers with the Internet is highly encouraged. Therefore, it has become a very important tool in the field of education complimenting the books. Moreover, the availability of news, data, and information on the Internet has to a large extent replaced newspapers and books usage. But not to forget, some texts and content is still preserved in the form of books, which cannot be found on electronic platforms. For example , few exquisite paintings and artwork can only be appreciated in hard copies and not on e-platforms. The textures and detailing, as well as colors, can be appreciated only on paper. Apart from this, there are many people who still prefer reading physical books than e-books as it gives them the real pleasure of reading as well as avoid distractions.

To conclude, though TV, Internet, and radio are better and faster means to transfer information, I don’t think that it can totally replace books anytime in the future. We should make an effort to preserve libraries and books to pass on this discipline to our future generations.