VIOLENT IN MEDIA PROMOTES VIOLENCE IN SOCIETY TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE?

A school of thoughts hold that brutal behaviours in society attribute to media violence. Personally, I partly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, it is justifiable that violent media can desensitize people to violence. To be specific, prolonged of exposuring to violent social media plattforms can increase tolerance for aggression, while individuals may become less emotionally responsive to violent acts overtime. Hence, this not only decreases empathy for victims but also persuades them to reoffend crime. Secondly, cyberbully is a breeding ground for atrocious acts in children. After watching movies feature fight scences from which violence is glorified and rewarded, individuals, especially teenagers and adolescents, may imitate and commit atrocies with their friends. As a result, media violence can instill aggresive emotions and behaviours in the audience, such as verbal aggression.

On the other hand, it is believed that the grave cause of brutal behaviours in society is socio-economic inequality. To elaborate, disparities in wealth and access to resources can lead to feelings of marginalization and unfulfillment in poverty people, which may fuel violence. Therefore, due to the lack of opportunities and economic deprivation, they are resort to commit crime to buy their basic needs. Secondly, anti-social behaviours may be attributable to the family dysfunction and abuse. Exposuring to domestic violence and child abuse can have a long-lasting psychological effects on children; moreover, they are not educated about the moral and ethical standards in society. Thus, increasing the likelihood of individuals perpetuating violence in their own lives. In conclusion, governments should enact laws and propose practical solutions to eliminate all forms of violence in society.