We have been living in the nuclear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology has provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine. To what extent is nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

Since the atomic weapon had become a reality and the first usage of it were performed, we became closer to the point of destroying the planet some day. However, later the nuclear technology was implemented in civil life as energy source and a method of cancer treatment. I believe that nowadays a danger of nuclear usage is moderate due to the worldwide control system. In my view, the most important benefit of this technology is its possibilities in the energy sector and the main drawback is accidents at nuclear power plants and radiation pollution.

Firstly, it is obvious that nuclear military innovations aim at total destruction of life. For example, in the case of an attack will be destroyed infrastructure and living creatures on a few square kilometres around the epicentre. As a result, in large-scale conflict we could expect a scenario that would lead to the elimination of a continent. However, even such a scenario does not mean a total destroy of the whole planet. Moreover, we have United Nations Organization control and few interstate agreements between nuclear club countries.

Secondly, as a source of energy, nuclear plants are beyond competition in many regions. For example, in Turkey has been under construction a new nuclear plant, which will produce energy for domestic needs and will make Turkey an energy exporter to neighbour countries. But this valuable benefit comes with a huge risk of accident, such as the Chernobyl catastrophic in the USSR. In that accident the explosion brought enormous damage to nature and humans’ health not only in the USSR but in many European countries. It had taken decades to decrease a radiation pollution harm for the environment and people. To eliminate this type of threat, we have established a few international organizations, and the construction requirements for these plants were revised.

In conclusion. I want to point out that nuclear energy is very useful in various industrial issues but requires high safety standards and control due to the significant risk of pollution. And I consider that we would not expect a planetary catastrophic because in armed conflict, as long as there are measures of international control and containment.