We have been living in the nuclear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology has provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine. To what extent is nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

‘Nuclear technology has both ends’—it’ could be beneficial for human beings as well as a storehouse of potential risk for civilization. As we are living in the age of nuclear technology, we must acknowledge both the positivity and negativity of this energy, though the negative sides outweigh the positive ones.

Mentioning the most terrible use of nuclear energy is that it can destroy any country, even the planet, all at once. The world already witnessed the consequences of Hiroshima and Nagasaki and couldn’t do much against the effects of that event. Also, several countries are preparing their armies with such a nuclear weapon and are ready to attack any time in a warlike situation. This preparedness could damage the opponent country or region indiscriminately.

On the other side of the coin, nuclear power is the cheapest form of energy that can be used as an alternative to limited fuel sources. Furthermore, electricity can be produced on a large scale through using this technology. The increasing tendency of using this science in certain areas of medicine, e.g., cancer cell destruction and phototherapy, could pay off in the future. Though there are some side effects regarding nuclear therapy, such as radiation injury, cell damage, generalized pain, and toxicity from overdose, careful use with precaution may reduce the adverse effects.

On the whole, nuclear power has two-fold dimensions regarding the uses. It contributes more to producing electricity with low cost and could be great use for treating cancer. Nevertheless, it poses a potential risk to human civilization and quite difficult to escape it’s negative consequences.