What distinguishes young people from their parents' or grandparents' generation is a lack of physical exercise. Today's generation are spending far too long playing computer games, chatting aimlessly on social networking sites or simply watching TV, and too little time being active. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, the young generation is being strongly criticized for spending too much time playing computer games and chatting pointlessly on social networking sites, consequently, it has become a common situation when parents argue with their children about that. I guess, I can partly agree that children now tend to be absorbed in the augmented reality of the computerized world and waste their time in senseless blabbing online which inevitably leads them to mental enfeeblement, intellectual degradation, and deterioration of their physical condition.

First of all, I have to admit that a modern trend for shifting from real life to augmented reality has become a real challenge for the young generation, leaving some young people at the margins of society; but nevertheless, there are some more facts which we need to keep in mind. The key thing is that the internet itself cannot transform anyone into a feeble and mindless creature. It is a person himself who is responsible for the final outcome of his actions. If properly used, internet can provide an individual with a boundless number of opportunities for personal growth, such as valuable information to study and analyze, new connections, and many professional courses to take. And even computer games, if you use them mindfully, can give you some knowledge; for example, you can learn English playing computer games in English, or you can choose computer games developing your critical thinking or demanding physical activities. Such games are available now.

Secondly, even if a teenager has a very intensive virtual life, it should not be a hurdle or impediment for him to dedicate some time to physical exercises. Although many young people nowadays have deteriorated their mental and physical abilities due to their internet addiction, there are still a lot of examples when young people can have a healthy lifestyle while staying in line with modern trends of the digital world. Here I have to reiterate that only people themselves can make the right choice. The new age has brought many opportunities, and only we can choose how to use them for better or for worse. While some young people lose themselves in the augmented reality, others take advantage of new opportunities it offers without becoming addicted to it.

In conclusion, I have to say that the mental and physical degradation of teenagers and adolescents caused by their over-integrating into the computer world is a real problem, but I would not consider it to be all-embracive, since along with negative examples we can find many advantageous cases of young people who manage to stay physically strong and mentally active while taking all the advantages which a digital world can offer them.