What is the advantages and disadvantage of studying abroad

Nowadays, the number of people studying abroad has witnessed a significant increase. Besides, certain benefits, they have to deal with advantages and disadvantages during the process of studying in another country. In this essay, I will examine the upsides and downsides of this phenomenon.

Let’s begin by looking at the merits of studying abroad. One of the major benefits is that access to high-quality education. Many universities abroad are equipped with the best facilities to support their studies. Moreover, the quality of teaching staff is carefully selected to provide their studies with more qualified lecturers. For instance, the US is known as a leading country in the economic field and is a country where international students want to study. Another positive is that they can meet new friends from different cultures. For example, when we make a new friend from Korea, we will have more knowledge about the traditional customs and lifestyle of Korea. Besides, many international students can develop themselves while studying abroad by getting out of their comfort zones. It gives them opportunities to expand their knowledge when meeting international friends. Furthermore, their soft skills also improve significantly by solving problems flexibly. As a result, they often mature and grow more independent over time. Especially, studying abroad can bring them well-paid jobs with a degree from an international university.

Turning to the other side of the argument, studying abroad still has certain downsides. Firstly, during the early stages of their journey, they may have faced culture shock and language barriers, which can make their lives more difficult. For example, when they want to ask for directions but because of language barriers they can not fully understand what the other person saying. Secondly, financial issues are one of the worrying problems when studying abroad. Having to pay for tuition fees every year and the high cost of food and transport becomes harder than ever without the help of family. Many students studying abroad have to spend their money very carefully if they do not want to empty their wallets at the end of the month.

In conclusion, while studying abroad provides students with valuable educational and personal growth opportunities, they must also be prepared to face cultural and financial challenges along the way.