When choosing a job, salary is the most important. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

People choose jobs based on different factors. Among these considerations, salary is believed to be the most important one, a statement I do disagree with. This is because, beyond monetary aspects, passion and a social cause can be two reasons for people to select a particular job.

It is understandable why salary seems to be a top priority when a job is chosen. People need money to cover basic necessities, such as healthcare, education and housing. A job that promises decent salary can enable people cover these expenditure items without much financial strain, leading to a standard lifestyle, in turn. Aside from this, people may want to live a luxurious life, which is why they put money before any other factors in job selection. Indeed, living in an expensive villa, driving a brand-new car, and affording an extravagant vacation cannot be possible with an employment that is not lucrative. Therefore, the role of money when someone chooses a job seems to be pivotal.

However, I believe how much they can earn is not a sole factor for people to choose a job. Apart from money, people may consider how passionate they are about the job they are opting for. In order to achieve job satisfaction, workers need to enjoy what they are doing, and if their job is not matched with their abilities and personality, money may not provide them with happiness in their career, in my view. On a societal level, some people may also choose a particular job so that they can contribute to their community. For example, those who work for voluntary programs and charity projects may not be driven to generate high income from their job, but simply want to help others in need or with disabilities, for example.

In conclusion, I understand why money is regarded as a motivator for people to choose a job. However, there are some factors that can be more important than earning much income. Not only do some people take job satisfaction into account, but they may also consider about societal needs when choosing a job.