Whether or not a person achieves their aims in life is mostly related to luck. Do you agree or disagree?

Discussions on success are common nowadays, and people often debate about the most important factor that helps one achieve their goals in life. It is claimed by some that luck is what determines whether an individual becomes successful or not. Although it is true that luck can help some to a certain extent, I disagree with the given view because of the value of personal effort and character.

Admittedly, luck can have a huge impact on lives of certain people. It is an external influence that can make one more accomplished in a specific setting or turn one from poor to rich. Lotteries, for example, are purely based on luck, which means people winning them benefit from a fortunate coincidence. Similarly, one can be born in a wealthy environment, inherently accessing a privileged life. However, both of these examples prove the point that this external impact is extremely rare, and even when some individuals do get a chance to be a lottery winner or a member of a rich family, they can still fail later in life. For instance, there are stories of lottery winners who wasted all of their money in a short span, and some accounts of how children of the affluent could not sustain family’s wealth.

Most of the time, what helps one accomplish their aims is strategic goal-setting and perseverance. When individuals plan accordingly and work hard to reach their targets, the likelihood of success increases. Numerous stories of successful people showcase the importance of toughness and diligence in achieving desired results. Some of the most popular people in the world, such as the most followed athletes Ronaldo and Messi, come from unprivileged backgrounds. The Portuguese player is known to be from a poor family, while Argentinian suffered from health-related issues growing up. Yet, at the moment, they are widely regarded to be some of the greatest sportspeople in history, inspiring millions of people for years.

In summary, even though flukes can change people’s lives, relying on luck is irrational. Instead, to realize goals, people should focus on their work ethic and planning.