Whoever control the media also control opinon and attitudes of the people and there is little that can be dore to rectify this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, media is quite powerful for shaping people’s minds, and there is a view that individuals who hold the reins of media platforms can influence the way populace see the world and make decisions. Although this process is quite irreversible, I partly agree with this viewpoint since social media offers freedom of speech, which is not subject to any supervision.

To begin with, all media forms play a pivotal role in our lives. As we follow TV coverage, printing press and radio broadcasting in a bid to keep ourselves up-to-date and entertain, we welcome these platforms as an inseparable part of our daily routine. As a result, the contents of these forms of media affect our sentiments. Alas, more often than not, government interfere the news and create biased information, indirectly impacting the thoughts of older generation, for the abovementioned platforms are mostly impactful to them.

Conversely, there are more modern means of getting information and entertainment, which is, more or less, free from propaganda or censorship. The advent of the Internet enabled users to openly express their ideas and obtain data which are impartial or uncensored by any entity. In other words, it has become challenging for people, who wish to manipulate others by simply changing facts or inserting their mindset on media. Moreover, this trend is expected to grow, rendering control over population via media ineffective. Hence, I am of the opinion that owners of media do not possess full oversight above individuals.

In conclusion, while some media platforms, including TV, radio and printing press can be leverages to gain control over common public, more contemporary types of media, namely Instagram, YouTube and Telegram delivers more objective data, making any sort of control rather impossible.