With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree?

The internet made it unnecessary to meet up with people tet-a-tet to socialize, but, in my opinion, online communication will never replace it.

Texts, phone and video calls etcetera undoubtedly, add convenience to our life. It takes a second to get your message to a person on the opposite part of the globe, this is the reason why there is a rising number of communication and relationships between people of very different cultures. This suggests that in furure people won’t feel the need to see, talk and have quality time with their significant others offline. That is possible, but, I think, we have to wait for our own nature to give up for it to happen (so, a whole lot of time).

Even though now we have an opportunity to built almost any kind of relationship without even going outside, people are extremely social creatures. This means we need our loved ones to be physically close, that’s why, for instance, we feel so joyful when meeting our online friends in real life for the first time. There are few situations in which people willingly become reclusive. Mostly, when a person is alone for a long time it affects them psychically, so they start to crave real socializing even if they have plenty of it online. The clearest example of this is what the world faced on covid-19 epidemic: hundreds of people felt so lonely they moved in to their friends’ or relatives’ place or got a pet to have at least something alive beside them.

To sum up, it is easy to communicate with no real-life interaction in modern world, but human nature wants us to look for offline meetings with people dear to us, so there is no way we won’t be under it’s control in any foreseeable future.