With the development of technology children are now living in a world that is completely different to what it was 50 years ago. What problems this cause for society and the family?

With the rapid advancements in the field of technology, digital devices have been an inseparable part of children’s life in comparison with 50 years ago. While there are clear benefits to this approach, it does more harm than good.

It is true that technology has brought several advantages to our children. For example, it is a useful source of learning and entertainment resources. Compared to the past, now our children can access a significant amount of learning materials through online based on their interests, usually for free. Parents do not have to print or buy them. Furthermore, digital era has made our offspring’s time funnier. We can find several platforms designed for entertainments where children can entertain and find new friends from diverse backgrounds, potentially influencing to their perspectives and helping them grow as a person. Finally, having awareness about technology as well as technical and literacy skills from at an early age make a big difference when it comes to gain a competitive edge, particular in a time when employers are imposing hiring standards.

In contrast, its negative impacts on society and family should not be underestimated. If our children highly rely on technologies, it may distract them, leading to a lack of focus, and struggling to concentrate on their studies. Furthermore, most platforms are designed for solitary activities, which leads to an isolated lifestyle, neglecting relationships among society and family. If action is not taken seriously, this brings feelings of unworthiness and disenfranchisement. Finally, excessive screen time is also detrimental for their health, such as eye strain, obesity and sleep disorders.

In conclusion, although technology is beneficial due to its positive influence on learning, entertainment, and new friendships, its negative impacts on relationships among society and family, mental health and distraction should never be forgotten. Parents should find a balance ensuring that its benefits are maximized while minimizing its negative aspects.