With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor areas. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recent years have witnessed rapid urbanization in many countries, especially developing ones. The influx of population has lead homes in cities having ever smaller, or worse still, no outdoor spaces at all, like gardens and courtyards, as there is not enough land in urban areas to accommodate the increasing population. In my opinion, it is an entirely negative trend because this will result in a decrease in citizens’ mental and physical well-being.

Having no outdoor areas could have a detrimental impact on people’s physical health. Our bodies thrive on fresh air, sunshine and natural lights. However, living in cramped and crowded apartments deprives people of having all these ‘luxuries’, making many city dwellers suffering from poor health. Hongkong is a great example of this. Because the city has very limited land to build houses, many people in Hongkong are living in extremely crowded and confined spaces with poor ventilation and limited open areas. As a result, reports have shown that there has been an increase in diseases such as asthma, phnuemobia as well as cancer in Hongkong, because of poor living conditions.

Living in places with limited or no abundant open areas may also lead to compromised mental well-being and likely increase the possibility of developing mental illnesses among citizens. Numerous scientifc research has shown a direct link between the exposure to nature and people’s mental wellness. They found that when people are exposed to natural elements, such as greenery, the aroma of flowers and the sound of birds’ singing, their brains will release some ‘feel-good’ hormones such as dopamine, therefore relieving stress and avoiding depression, anxiety. Since outdoor areas can provide citizens with environments where they can get close to nature, it is likely that citizens will have lower chance of developing mental issues.

In conclusion, one of the repercussions of urbanization is that people live in a profoundly unnatural living environment as they do not own enough open spaces in houses. In view of the adverse impact it has on citizens’ both physical and psychological health, it is imperative for govenments to strive for a better living condition for all citizens where they have access to abundant open and outdoor areas.