With the increasing demand for energy, such as oil and gas, people start to look for their sources in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary societies, the soaring demand for energy has compelled people to search for resources in far-flung places. While acknowledging the benefits associated with this attempt, including alleviating fuel shortage and promoting economic development, I reckon that it is more likely to have more harmful effects.

Seeking energy resources in remote and primitive areas promises manifold advantages, the most conspicuous being the mitigation of energy deficiency. Areas, such as virgin forests and mountainous regions, serve as repository of natural resources that are untapped by human beings. The exploitation of important energy resources like oil and coal helps to alleviate energy shortage caused by excessive human activities. For example, the proliferation of cars in recent decades contributes to the surging demand of fuels and has exacerbated energy crisis. The discovery of energy resources in primitive regions increases energy reserve and tackles energy shortage in an efficient manner. Additionally, an efficient supply of energy stimulates economic growth by ensuring the normal operation of businesses across various sectors, such as food, hospitality and manufacturing. Factories and plants would not be forced to halt their activities due to energy crunch.

Yet, exploring sources of energy in untouched areas does have negative consequences. Firstly, the forage of resources in areas least affected involves an elevated level of human activities. For instance, the arrival of experts and workers is usually accompanied with inappropriate disposal of wastes, such as plastic bottles and food packages, further deteriorating the fragile natural environment. Moreover, the installation of heavy machines and large facilities, including cranes and drill platforms, could pollute and degrade the soil due to toxic substances emitted by these equipments. Furthermore, the extraction of minerals and precious metals could cause massive habitat loss and poses significant risks to wild animals and local ecosystems. In this light, irresponsible exploitation of resources has wide ecological repercussions that could destroy our habitat as well as endangering the lives of humans.

To conclude, while looking for energy resources in pristine areas is a viable solution to energy depletion and fuels economic growth, I believe that its adverse effects on environment are substantial and should not be overlooked.