With the increasing popularity of online education, some believe that physical libraries will eventually become obsolete. Others argue that libraries will continue to serve a vital role in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this digital world, where technology has improved exponentially, the debate over whether online reading websites has become increasingly relevant. While the internet provides an unprecedented access to those who do not have the resources to travel to a particular library, nor the importance of library books shouldn’t be overlooked. I agree that although the internet resources are indispensable and irreplaceable in this modern world, but it doesn’t truly represent the library and will not be replaced with the web pages in the future.

Onthe one hand, it is true that the advent of the Internet, and e-books, individuals are eased to read books staying at home, only through single click and online search. Besides, nowadays where newspapers and magazines are no longer in trend, people can read daily articles by the help of online websites. Among cited examples are informative sources, such as Science, Economist, and BBC news, all of which are available online. One of the highlighted benefits is the cost-efficiency of such digital materials, which can minimise unnecessary expenditure for which they use no longer, right after they complete reading.

Paradoxically, using online resources is not only constrained by positive outputs, but it also comes hand-in-hand with equally significant drawbacks, which signals the imperative role of libraries. To begin with, librarians do not track one’s reading or search history to sell people things. One classic example is Amazon’s books, where the reading data of individuals brings valuable business intelligence to the company. The same is true for searching history, whereby they offer adds for the type of purchases for weeks, for whom only searched it just once.

Moreover, however online reading materials are cost-efficient, they also reveal inconviences,concerning privacy, and misinformation. In fact, even the smartest phone’s intelligence is limited by paywalls, Twitter trolls, and other hazards of online life. Similarly, web pages are ephermal, and link rots exist online.Chief among this is cyberbullying, whereby many online accounts are negatively impacted. On the contrary, library content is much more stable.

In conclusion, while the Internet provide affordable costs, and flexibility, it doesn’t fully replicate conventional libraries which is still critical in this digital age. However, choosing the way to read book is highly subjective with equally significant advantages and disadvantages each confers.