With the rise of e-books, comes the decline of paper books, what are its advantages and disadvantages?

Due to tremendous advancement in technology, the reading preferences of people have upgraded.As an outcome of this, the demand of electronic books has proliferated which directly hampers the requirement of printed books. There are certain benefits as well as drawbacks of this upgradation.

To begin with, there are multiple advantages of digital books. Firstly, the prime advantage is that it is easily accessible from anywhere at any time. It can be downloaded on multiple devices at a time. To exemplify,a group of friends interested in reading the same book can install e-books simultaneously rather than waiting for the turn with paper book . In addition, an individual approaching for soft copy of book can be benefited with extra features that comes along with electronic book such as audio visuals as well as availability of multiple language. Secondly, using e-book prevent harm to environment. It confides deforestation which is a basic step for production of paper for printed book. It can be shared effortlessly overseas, breaking the geographical barrier and eventually become a source of income for the authors. Thus, habit of using e-book is quite beneficial in several ways.

Conversely, there are certain disadvantages of utilising online book which should be taken into consideration. The first and foremost demerit is that it impacts adverse effect on health if operated for prolonged hours. It damages eyesight which either leads to blur vision or temporary blindness. Another drawback is that there are high chances of being hacked while getting service of digital books. Reading from unauthorised and not verified Website could have dreadful outcome for an individual as it asks for personal information at the first place prior to accessing book to read .Hackers might steal and misuse the private data as a result of which data gets corrupted and loss of data could take place.

In conclusion, though there are positives of accessing digital books such as it provides flexibility along with eco-friendly environment, there are various negatives also that affects health which should not be ignored.