With the rise of online communication, some people believe that face-to-face interaction is becoming obsolete. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What are the benefits and drawbacks of relying primarily on digital communication?

In this fast-paced era, it is often argued that virtual interaction has snatched the position of offline communications, while others believe that the latter will not lose its importance and is still common in society. Considering the facts, I express my solidarity with the view that, though the former has become more prevalent, it cannot pluck the vibes which are offered by physical interactions. With due consideration, both ideas will be highlighted before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

One of the views that cannot be denied is that the generation has become technologically so advanced that people living miles apart barely feel that they are actually on opposite sides of the world. This is majorly due to advancement in all social applications. As a personal example, during the phase of corona lockdown, my mother got trapped in Dubai and I was in India, but because of such hi-fi quality video calls, I did not even feel that she was thousands of kilometers far from me. Another fact, which cannot be denied, is that in this era, people are not able to spare much time for each other. As a result, every individual prefers to chat instead of having real talks. Hence, deficiency of time and personal choice leads to substantial alleviation in one-on-one meetings.

In spite of the above view, there are few who still believe that certain major life decisions should only be taken by undertaking the traditional way of talking. For instance, one of my nephews denied getting engaged virtually on a video call as it was one of the most significant decisions of his life. With that, there are many who still believe that vital conclusions of any facets of life could not be taken without face-to-face communications. This thought-process could definitely nurture one’s life and truly amalgamate each other’s close-knitted bonds.

To conclude, I strongly opine on the fact that, no matter how far the technologies upgrade, certain relations should always be nurtured by social gatherings rather than virtual ones.