With the rise of social media, people are increasingly getting their news from online sources rather than traditional media. What are the potential effects of this on society? Is this a largely positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with the advance of new technologies, more and more people are willing to obtain information from social media rather than traditional ones. While this trend is ought to be beneficial, I strongly believe that it is a negative development as it faciliates the spread of unverified information.

On the one hand, the major advantage of this shift is the speed. In the past we used to wait a letter or valuable information for a long time and it was a time-consuming. However now, with the help of these digital platforms it gets easier to obtain news and so on. Moreover, people now tend to just visit their instagram page and get varieties of news around the world. Thus, these technologies are the best way of getting information swiftly.

On the other hand, while there is a list of advantages there is a common obstacle and harm for society and this is misinformation. And it is mainly because many of these platforms may contain unsafe and unchecked information and news as well. For instance, Instagram user has posted news about a new war that is happening right now in order to gert attention and likes. And when this became viral, many individuals started shock and even protests. That is why some sources can be unverified and may decive the society from the reality.

In conclusion, even though social platforms can be seen as the righest thing, there can be the negative aspects including misinformation and false predictions for the future.