With traffic jams and pollution increasing every year in big cities, some people say that public transport should be free in big cities to help reduce these problems which are caused by cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s contemporary world, people are becoming more dependent on new inventions and technological equipment particularly for transportation. Some argue that excessive use of personal vehicles is one of the major causes of traffic congestion and pollution, whereas others believe that, in large urban areas, public transport sources should be kept free for reducing the number of problems caused by transport mediums. I agree with the notion of using public transport for commuting from one place to another, as it can overcome the problems caused by personal vehicles. This forthcoming paragraph of this essay will discuss the above-mentioned arguments, followed by a conclusion.

To begin with, let us shed light on the fact that public transport can improve the traffic flow on the roads. Firstly, shared transportation helps in saving money as well as decreasing traffic jams. To explain, using personal vehicles increases the economic burden on an individual, caused by excessive fuel consumption. Therefore, if citizens start using public transport for commuting, they can save money by paying cheap amounts for transportation, which also leads to less traffic on the road. For example, by making public transport free in the metropolises, people are attracted towards the public bus services, which may help the government in decreasing the environmental pollution caused by excessive usage of personal vehicles.

Secondly, problem of traffic will be deducted if personal vehicles are demolished.

To conclude, it is very imperative for the government to restrict the excessive use of fuels. I believe that use of means of transportation can be monitored along with public transport, so as to maintain the balance in the environment.