Working from home is a popular way for professionals to work these days because it is convenient. What are the benefits and drawbacks of this trend?

Working remotely is a trendy means for employees to work in recent times because it is comfortable. Although there are multiple merits of this development, the demerits cannot be ignored.

On the one hand, working from home allows individuals to manage work life balance. To begin with, it saves plenty of time for a worker. In other words, they no longer need to wait in traffic for hours on the way to the office and back. For instance, my brother’s friend spends 2 hours to reach his workplace each day and traffic is a major problem on the way to his office but, these days he has enough time from when he starts working online from his residence. Furthermore, work flexibility is another major advantage of this trend. Sometimes it becomes quite challenging for a job professional to do their own personal work but with online work they have enough time for the personal work and have time to spend movements with their family.

While on the other hand, substantial disadvantages are also associated with this. Firstly, health issues are the main drawback with this premise. In other words, the moment of the body becomes limited and causes several disorders like cervical pain and obesity. For instance, while working remotely, my friend gained 5 kg of weight because he needed to sit all the time with a laptop that restricted him to perform any kind of exercise.

Secondly, the lack of communication affects one’s professional terms with others. During work from home the contact with other office colleagues reduces as a result of this, conflict between them occurs that ultimately affect their performance.

In Conclusion, based on the aforementioned points, it is evident that both view points are valid and acceptable. The decision to work remotely depends on one’s choice entirely, and it is not mandatory.