Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is believed by some that advertisements are the reasons we buy unnecessary things, while others are of the opinion that they just bring attention to something new that may better our lives. I agree with latter because without such information available people might continue to work harder and not smarter.

To begin, advertisement helps us to be updated with new innovations and products. Recent technological developments reveal certain products that will be of much benefit to the population that they lack insight on, and this can be brought to limelight with the use of adverts. For example, in rural areas, most elderly people are in the dark concerning food processors which help to cut vegetables and pound yam effortlessly, for this reason they still carry out these tasks through the known traditional method.

Another benefit of advertisement is the variety of options it provides and at a reduced cost due to competitions. Many companies use discounted prices to attract customers, thus the client have a plethora of choice to make which makes it easier and more affordable to purchase any product that will reduce their workload. For instance, robots are now used for cleaning and maintenance of the home, in time past only the rich could afford such luxury. However, start-ups have developed products that are affordable across all classes thus rivaling the existing companies.

In conclusion, although some people believe that adverts have a huge role to play in our spending habits, I stand with the latter on the benefits of bringing new information’s to targeted groups.