Write about the following topic. In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some schools in Europe teaches students of age 11 to 13, more on practical skills that will help them get a job, while school in other areas provides a more general academic education. While both strategies has it’s own benefits, I believe in schools which teaches practical skills to their students will be better trained for world of work where employers looks for valuable skills in candidates during interviewing. While on the other hand, schools that provide more general academic education will focus solely on academics making them better in grades.

Schools with more practical skills tend to teach more on valuable skills that students require when they go for jobs including communication, time management and physical labs(getting in hand experience), making them one of the favourite candidates of employers. One of my friends namely Abeer studied in such a school get a job faster than rest of our friends group as he has developed such skills which tends to impress employers.

Schools that focus more on academic education focuses mostly on grades that students achieve. This method focuses more on academics making students learn more information on subjects they study in school and help them learn more on particular topic. As an example I studies in such a school which focuses more on academics and I get to learn a lot more on subjects that we studies with detailed information while our main focus is to get better grades in exams.

To conclude, I believe Schools that teaches more practical skills will be better for students in a world of work due to the in hand experience that they get and the skills that gets developed during the school.