Write about the following topic. In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Across the European nations, student in primary and early secondary schools pursue the targetted courses which solely focus on the job prospects. While some student prefers schools that follows versatile approach of academic education.

Since both mode of learning has its pros and cons, and as per my knowledge, the prowess and expertise required in a particular field of domain has become prerequisite if one needs to be successful in job interviews, hence education for targetted job is equally necessary as general knowledge. Thus, I would like to justify them first before drawing my conclusion.

Focusing on work-centric educations, if we look at current situation in industrial market, the competitions over job applicant has burgeoned. For a candidate without major in job expertise, would easily filtered out from the recruitement eligibility. Furthermore, due to advancement in technology, many postings are being superseded by automation bots and AI thus job skill is must. For example, a student seeking a career in IT sector needs to start mastering the technological concept from school, in order to excell and survive in the job market.

On a flip side, emphesising on only one area of study would not develop all the required qualities a person need to succeed in life. There are various essential areas where school needs to plan a seed in child’s mind. For instance, those considerable skill may be developed in a later stage of life, but pursuing general knowledge regarding moral and social importance would improve student’s ethical behaviour. Moreover, what would happen if those student devoted all of their time gaining skills throught school duration and by the time they are eligible for work, the job does not exist anymore. Job of salesman, for example, which is completely replaced by online shopping.

To sum up, although, getting hired for the dream job seems an uphill task, school and parents should always prioritise generic mode of learning, which offers betterment of student’s aptitude, behavious and virtue. Major domain should be seleted at university education.