Write about the following topic. In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Many people have different opinions about whether schools should provide children with practical skills or more academic education. It is my firm believe that a well-established school should do both in order to raise a useful individual in his or her society.

Education facilities should provide basic academic subject to children. This because these subjects are essential for the development of a child. No one can pursue further education without learning the basic science, math, language and other vital curriculums. To illustrate more, you cannot pursue a career in medicine without learning basic biology, chemistry and other important subjects in primary and secondary school which qualify you to have higher education. If schools focus only on providing practical skills, students would not have a chance to have a higher education that required in many jobs today.

Furthermore, I strongly believe that schools should also provide youngster with practical skills that will help them in the workforce. while these abilities are not required in university, they are very crucial in work setting. Such skills may include communication skills, public speaking, leadership, problem solving, and many more. These skills are usually learnt when the individual enters the work field, so it seems logical that see skills should be taught early and developed side by side with the academic subjects.

In conclusion, a good school should aim to provide young people with practical skills in addition to various basic academic education as it will not only help them have higher education, but also benefits them later on their chosen careers.