Write about the following topic: As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The world wide web is becoming more widespread and printed news is becoming outdated. This essay strongly agrees with this statement because the internet has a variety of sources and websites and production of newspapers are expensive.

On the one hand, the materials needed to compile a newspaper can damage the environment. News printed on paper comes from timber and these specific trees need to be cut down and processed, which can lead to biodiversity loss in a region. Furthermore, the costs involved to process and deliver these newspapers continue to rise. Challenges from a world economy can lead to rising fuel prices that can force the printing press to increase the delivery costs to certain locations in a region. For example, costs include delivering the timber to the factory and end where people need to deliver newspaper by hand, which leads to the value of the paper being too high to sell.

On the other hand, subscriptions to internet news channels are cost efficient. People save money when subscribing online for a smaller fee, rather than buying a daily newspaper. Another reason is that the internet has a wide variety of news sources. People can gain access to any news channel anywhere around the world and follow international news that is ongoing. For instance, business men or women can read local and international news when they travel around the world to stay updated.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that newspapers are outdated since the web has many different news channels and sources, and producing printed news are costly.