Write about the following topic: In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Over the past ten years, a great increase in air travel worldwide was noted. This is because many airlines have reduced ticket pricing by cutting costs, this is absolutely a positive development since it allows more people to enjoy plane travel, thus boosting the economy.

The influx of people flying on planes is largely due to the clever cost lowering techniques employed by international airlines, these include more efficient airplane designes and denser seating plans, all in all, these measures lead to a lower overall ticket price.

If the price of a good increases, naturally the demand will follow, it’s basic economics. For instance, a Harvard study concluded that a person is much more likely to travel if the prices of a plane ticket got reduced by 50 dollars or more, even if it meant less leg space.

The international increase of air travelers is a good phenomenon. Firstly, it indicates world wide development, just 50 years ago plane seats were only reserved for the highest echelons of society, such as very wealthy businessmen, on the other hand, air travel has become so affordable the average joe travels multiple times yearly. Moreover, the increase in globalization promotes economic growth around the earth. For example, many workers from third-world countries visit cities like Dubai seeking a better life, this results in a larger supply of workers thus making labour cheaper, allowing for more buildings to rise.

In conclusion, the increasing trend of air travel over the past decade is largely due to more affordable seating, this is an overall win for everyone involved as more people get to experience plane travel, bolstering the economy in the process.