Write about the following topic: International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Global tourism has in many places enraged the local population and led to significant pollution. At the same time, many people have benefited immensely from this phenomenom. This essay will delve into the nuanced question of whether international tourism can be considered a net positive or not.

On the one hand, many people in often-visited places will argue that the ever-increasing number of tourists have brought about a higher standard of living. For instance, structurally poor regions oftentimes cannot provide sufficient jobs for their inhabitants. International tourism can provide significant employment opportunities in such areas. Additionally, travelling abroad and visiting foreign tourist desinations can foster a postitive exchange between different populations. Many tourists will return from such experiences with a new understanding and a deeper connection with a previously unknown culture.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of international tourism cannot be overlooked. In some places, the huge influx of tourists has led to higher costs of living and a disgruntled population. The gothic quarter in Barcelona, for example, is scattered with AirBnB’s and affordable housing for its local inhabitants is nowhere to be found. Further, people’s constant desire to visit far-away destinations is a reason for the steady increase in air travel. It is well established that the use of airplanes is one of the worst possible modes of transportation in terms of pollution.

In conclusion, international tourism can be considered a two-sided coin. While it may have provided significant opportunity for some people, others may well feel left behind.