Write about the following topic: Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Park land within cities provided residents with the opportunity for social engagement, recreational activities, not with standing it effectiveness as a carbon sink, absorbing pollution emitted by local industry and transport. However local governments believe a lack of residential property could be solved by building housing on recreational land. In this essay I will argue that park land should be preserved.

Park land provides a wide range of recreational and social activities for local residents. The modern city park constitutes, outdoor gyms, paths for cycling, running or walking dogs, as well as the opportunities for picnics with friends and family, whilst children explore the enthralling jungle gym facilities. All of these facets contribute significantly to the well-being and happiness of a cities residents. Therefore, due to the recreational and social benefits of a park, local government should rather invest in its maintenance and improvement if it wants to keep it residents content.

Moreover, parklands have a positive impact on carbon emissions . The Botany in a park acts as a carbon sink absorbing much of the pollution emitted by local industry and transport and in it gives back vital oxygen into the environment. With the ever increasing carbon emissions due to growing cities, it important to prioritize parkland and trees and other plants. Less carbon emissions means a healthier city.

Therefore, it is important that park land is cherished by local government, as it provides recreational and social benefit as well as environmental and health benefits for all it citizens.