Write about the following topic: There is no doubt that globalisation has benefited the world by bringing together people, business and nations. People who criticise it stand in the way of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, globalization has a significant effect on society. There are some people who say that globalization is important in today’s growing world, whereas some people call it a bad idea and say that it is not necessary in our livelihood. I completely support the former.

On one hand, there are people who say that globalization has been a key element in bringing different people together. Firstly, globalization helps in bringing people from different races and various mindsets under one platform and making them know each other. This reduces the risk of social and race-based wars among people. Secondly, this phenomenon helps transform economies and make them stronger by introducing bilateral ties between governments. For instance, the recent agreement signed between the European Union and the USSR will benefit all the African small countries and bring them together.

On the other hand, there are some who wholeheartedly oppose this cause and say that globalization is harmful to a country’s economic and social development. They support their position by giving two main factors. The first factor is that any country that practices internationalism ends up inviting illegal immigrants into its borders. Many people who have struggled to reach that position by all means will be affected by the jobs and housing crisis. Secondly, some national cultures will disappear if international transformation is practiced. For example, in some small African countries, the local language is replaced by a globally spoken language, either English or French, while old languages are forgotten by people living there.

In conclusion, globalization, while being the best idea to bring countries and middlemen together, may also have some negative impacts on a country’s safety and economy.