WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that, as oil and fossil-originated fuels are going to eventually dwindle up, it is more sensible to put money into the search for renewable sources of energy, instead of focusing everything on extracting oil. I personally agree with this view, and I will explain my reasoning in the next paragraphs.

First of all, as we all know, oil takes thousands of years to create. It comes from fossils, which incurr in a lenghty natural process before they can be transformed into oil. This means that, as sources of oil are not endless, even if governments found a new stash of oil, that one would also run out eventually, especially with the amount of people inhabiting the world and the increasing rate with which oil is used up.

Second of all, it is important to make use of our ever evolving knowledge on the harm that this kind of energy is causing to the planet. As renewable energy sources exist and we have an extensive understanding of them, if we put our efforts into developing the instruments we already have nature would also benefit from it. Which means that we, as people, would enjoy the benefits as well, in the short run. The “One Health” WHO movement, indeed, states that if the environment and the animals are healthier, then people’s health can be positively impacted too. For example, without oil we would never hear about oil spillage in the ocean again. Also, if we put more money into the development of solar energy, less poor individuals would have issues accessing electricity. As a matter of fact, a few solar panels produce a great quantity of energy that can be distributed around a neighborhood.

In conclusion, I believe that we should definitely put more effort into researching new environment-friendly energy resources instead of spending money on oil, which pollutes and is also going to finish up in a not so distand future. A healthy planet overall improves the health of everyone and everything living on it.