WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe having a competitive environment in work or school daily is better because they believe it is an easier way to produce talented people. However, others believe cooperation is the best way due to the belief of everybody can achieve success and this essay agrees with it.

Some individuals believe a competitive atmosphere produces a skilled person. In a competitive place such as work or school, they may create a skilled person but the skills a person has will be limited. For instance, a person who always works alone does not learn about leadership skills. So, he may have skills in a specific area, but those skills will be limited.

On the other hand, cooperation brings success to anyone. People who work together can achieve goals easily because in a team if one person lacks skill, a person who has that skill can help and teach him. By doing that the whole team can achieve their common goals. For example, on campus normally students don’t prepare for their exams alone. They work together and help each other when preparing. That’s why on campus there is a low failure rate in an exam.

In conclusion, a competitive environment in a workplace or education institute can produce skilled individuals but they may lack skills that can be learned through collaboratively. However, individuals who work collaboratively will success in anything and this is the reason why this essay agrees with cooperation is better than competition in a workplace or educational center.