Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is true that in many nations, the retirement age has been increased unprecedentedly nowadays. While there are some extinct disadvantages of this trend, I believe that the benefits surpass its drawbacks.

I can comprehend some of the challenges that old workers may find when continuing to work. One prominent concern is related to health issues. Because of their old age, some individuals may suffer from many diseases, like dementia, forgetfulness, or back and neck pain and osteoarthritis, which not only curtail them to perform tasks skillfully, but also impinge on their overall productivity. Another supported point is about the restriction of young employment opportunities. While increasing the age of retirement, many people worry about whether the seniors will take advantage over the young due to their great influence on the workplace and wealth experiences.

However, the perks of this phenomenon are overshadowed by the perquisites that I am going to mention. Firstly, the major advantage of raising the retirement age is to balance the lack of young laborers in the workforce. This is due to the fact that in today’s world, the birth-rate in some developed countries is witnessing constant plummet, leading to the deficiency of workers that can not meet the customers’ demand. Therefore, in order to continue the current mass-manufacture, a number of people has to be supplemented. The second point is about the great merits that senior workers bring. In comparison to the younger demographic, older workers often have greater experiences in their field. Thus, by extending the retirement age, expertises can continue to benefit from the knowledge and hands-on experiences that old employees have accumulated through their working lives. To specify, seniors can have training sessions to share the motive and operation of a machine to new staff. Finally, giving more work opportunities may contribute to more improvement in old people’s mental health. Working with diverse partners can create a wider social network as well as reduce risk factors, such as loneliness or isolation. Therefore, maintaining this kind of meaningful social activities can significantly improve life satisfaction and quality of life in old people.

In conclusion, while increasing the retirement age can lead to health concerns and limited young employment, I suppose that the advantages of it are greater due to the balance workforce and enhancement of mental health beings