Writing task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural residents are moving to cities, Consequently, the population in the countryside decreases. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? List the reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from Your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the recent era, people who live in the countryside are moving to cities in order to look for jobs with higher income. While proponents think that this will lead to them finding new jobs and living better lives, opponents think that this will lead devastating consequences for both rural and city-dwelling citizens. Thus, I believe that this is a negative development because it will affect the city population therefore increasing traffic and decreasing the city’s resources.

To begin with, by increasing the number of dwellers in big cities, the number of jobs available will decrease. Moreover, the city will be extremely populated, leading to traffic congestions and pollution. An eminent example is Cairo, the capital of Egypt, which is known for being extremely populated because of Egyptians travlleing from rural areas in Egypt to work in it. Therefore, what can be seen is that seeking profitable job opportunities in big cities all over the world leads to capitals being crowded and overpopulated.

In addition, when citizens, especially those who work in farms, leave the countryside to work in capitals, the country’s produce will decrease which, eventually, will lead to economic problems. For example, in Egypt, some farmers did not want to work because they were poorly payed so they moved to big cities to work and left their land without any care until it became desolate. What can be seen is that governments, if they want to solve the problem of overpopulation in cities, should give farmers good salaries and new equipment for farming.

In conclusion, after highlighting the above-mentioned points, what can be seen is that the problem of overpopulation due to people travelling from rural areas to cities can have some detrimental effects on countries. I reiterate my opinion that this is a negative development and governments should mitigate this problem by developing the rural areas.