WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some countries across the globe share the a broad variety of trends when it comes to populations’ structures and distributions, and one of these trends is that young adult percentage outnumbers the elderly. Some governments tend to think of it as a positive feature of the society, whereby the workers’ number increases, which allows for higher production rates, while others think of it negatively fearing of sudden poverty.

Diving deep into the first view, we can capture various merits of having a large population of young adults such as the growth of number of workers, technicians, engineers, and specialists who are needed to satisfy the country’s economical and industrial needs. Moreover, the number of soldiers, pilots, and special forces that in demand to respond to any national or external security threat can be met. An example of this can be Russia and Turkey, which have some of the highest birthrates worldwide, and some of the largest military forces. Furthermore, younger people are expected to be more familiar with modern technology, which may help to enhance the country’s infrastructure.

On the other hand, some countries recommend the policy of birth control to their residents and citizens fearing that sudden surge in teenagers and young adutl numbers may cause a unexpected increase in housing, healthcare, and food prices.Although this view may seem logical, but it neglects the ability of young adults to contribute to economy. To illustrate further, a recognisable examples are Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerburg, Elon Musk, and Jeff Bezoes who have established multi-billion dollar companies, which increased the availability of jobs across the USA and the world. On top of that, younger adults tend to be more scientifically productive, especillay from the age of 20 to 30, which is the age in which most Nobel prize winners achieve breakthroughs in science and technology.

Obviously, the pros of the proposed situation outweigh its cons; however, in order to achieve this vision of better and more modern society, a wise political leadership is needed to direct the energy and enthusiasm of young talents toward production and innovation, which are the main pillars to maintain the stability and prosperity of our world.