Writing task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural residents are moving to cities, Consequently, the population in the countryside decreases. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? List the reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from Your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

On a global level, population migration from the suburbs to the megapolis is increasing, which is resulting in a decline in the number of people who keep living in villages. Such a trend has both advantages and disadvantages but in my opinion, this might have a bad impact in many aspects of human beings’ lives in the nearest future.

The seductive opportunities to find well-paid jobs for people of different age groups are one of the reasons why big cities have been so attractive recently. In turn, the cosmopolitans keep expanding their boundaries and investing more in building and construction, therefore creating a variety of working places for locals. However, such population growth is putting a burden on local authorities and facilities that were not ready to accept such fastly rocketing population. For example, the sewage system initially was constructed considering a particular number of dwellers but what we can see now is that this system is constantly out of service and fixing it requires a great deal of financial resources.

Even though moving people from agricultural areas to big cities seems like a positive development in terms of better job opportunities, there is a high risk of lacking labour in farming. If fewer and fewer people stay to live in counties it may put in danger the agricultural sector as a part of the economy. The youth is leaving the villages and only the elderly are staying there and they have no one to pass the farming skills.

All in all, I believe it is a negative trend when the number of people living in rurals is dramatically declining and therefore making it more possible to extinct. By contrast, the population in big cities is soaring which affects both the local environment and facilities.