WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people may argue that competing in day-to-day life is necessary, while others may say staying united and being cooperative is better than competition. I firmly believe it is good to have some healthy competition in daily life, which helps in the betterment of life.

There are several reasons why it is beneficial for people to unite rather than being competitive. Firstly, by being cooperative, people can look out for one another and grow together as a group. Furthermore, it helps improve equality in the environment and in fighting external factors, regardless of one’s position. Secondly, sometimes fierce competition can turn into jealousy, which may cause enmity, while cooperation often leads to friendship. For instance, by cooperating with my classmates, I have completed my bachelor’s thesis sooner than I expected.

On the other hand, we live in a competitive world, where one’s opportunity might be taken by another if that individual is not competitive enough. Being competitive is often needed to improve in one’s career or studies, as disparity between individuals can create a sense of motivation. Many people work harder because of the fear of lacking behind others. For example, when cyclists are cycling, their speed depends on their position and how fast their opponents are riding their bikes. In my opinion, the competitiveness between individuals has to be healthy and should not turn into jealousy or enmity.

In conclusion, while working together and being cooperative is a nice thing to do, having healthy competition will motivate individuals to be the best versions of themselves.