WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people argue that there is a lot of negative content on the internet. They state the easiest way to insure safety on the surf websites is through government control. I strongly agree with this statement but within few limitations which will be discussed in this essay.

Firstly, The government must manage the information spread through digital platforms to prevent false information spreading and also to maintain a good morale for the nation. Adding to that, this ensures safety for the young people scrolling through their phones. Additionally, this censorship was used in war world 1 to make sure there was no harm for the community living far way from the front stages. The control of information protects individuals. For example, a government can control websites that influence crime or even harmful activities that can be done.

Furthermore, Having way too much control leads to unnecessary arguments because each post has a story behind it. As a result people can argue over the positive information that was taken off by the authorities. Due to the limitation of personal freedom the society might eventually break down. This leads to becoming a crisis since peoples voices won’t be heard fully. For instance, if a goverment has too much power, they can selectively pick what is read which futhermore cutoff a persons creativity.

In conclusion, The limitation of the information seen by people can have both a positive yet a negative effect on certain population. This depends on the data thats being censored. The digital websites can provide more information but can also harm this can be managed by the goverment carefully to insure freedom and security.