You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

I absolutely disagree with the idea of kids not receiving “non-academic” subjects, the school is more than just academic stuff, you need to learn about life.

To begin with, taking the examples of the topic sentence, the physical education is not just about running and be fitness, it helps kids to know how to work as a team too, besides the physical care is important , more in a country like Chile were we have a high percentage of over weight kids, owing to bad alimentation and not working out, in addition, nowadays we are in a tech era, thus children rather be on the phone than do actual physical activities.

On the other hand, cookery is the same, they need to learn to live for themselves, it’s insane the quantity of teenager that dont know how to cook even an egg. That is what those non-academic subjects teach to boys and girls, lo live, prepare them for the real life, and how to do stuff such as cook for themselves.

The school should be a place to learn not only academic subjetcs but also about the life, since I truly believe that when the kids finish the school they are not really prepared for live outside.

Furthermore they need to teach more non- academic subjects such as how to drive, how to look for a job, habilities for talk, how to manage their finances. If I had recieve and education like that, my life would have been so much easier.