You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

The standard of working period has been regulated in every country also in international rule that was stated by international organizations such as United Nations and International Labour Organizations (ILO). However, recent opinions contradict with the standard of working week and suggest cutting the working day & longer weekend. I totally disagree with this statement and provide the reasons behind the disagreement that include reducing human productivity and creating unstable economic conditions as the further result .

Firstly, the standard of working week that has been adapted in various countries was the result of long-term analysis and observation which considered productivity and health conditions. Experts believed the normal working week for the best profit outcome and maximizing human ability was accounted for 5 days or 40 hours per week. Cutting off the working time period is equal to creating an unproductive situation for workers. In addition, an unproductive situation might reduce the workers’ ability especially in concentrating and making quick decisions as the result of a longer weekend.

Moreover, the worst scenario of less productivity is the potential to create unstable economic conditions. Although the longer weekend can make the money circulation grow faster than a normal weekend, it camouflaged the real field condition. The unbalancing proportion between demand and supply, increasing in cost of material due to the unproductive production or slow administration system, are the key factors that contribute to unstable economic conditions.

In conclusion, the current working week has been the best way to result in efficiency and profit while a wider weekend negative effect outweighs the positive effect of that event for workers or even a country.